A Little Prayer Circle

Y’all, I love small group prayer.
It’s a little weird, I think.
Because icebreakers and small talk make me want to run.
But give me a little prayer circle (even with people I don’t know well) where we are talking to Jesus instead of each other, and it’s a different story.
And so it is that I find myself plugging my kid into technology after grabbing him from his class so that I can spend fifteen minutes praying with virtual strangers (plus my pastor– he’s cool). I lap them up like water, these moments. I cannot get enough.

Tucked into this little circle, I am reminded today of Romans 4:2.
It’s your kindness that leads us to repentance.

I’ve been thinking lately of how harsh some of our conversations with each other can be. How we’re quick to judge. How even when we’re sharing truth, it sometimes seems to sprout from duty or fear instead of love.
Here’s the thing, friends. Very few of us need to be reminded that we are sinners.
We know.


We’re not drawn to Jesus because his people tell us that we’re a hot mess.
Or terrify us with stories of eternal fire.
We’re drawn to Jesus because of his love.
And, most often, that means that we’re drawn to Jesus because we see the way that his people love.
Love each other.
Love us.
Love long and without judgment.


Love with chrēstotēs (you know I love my Hebrew/Greek keyword Bible)
The kindness, the grace that pervades the whole nature, mellowing all which would have been harsh and austere.
It doesn’t water down the consequences of sin, though it may well keep its mouth shut and leave that part to God.
It just lets grace pervade its whole nature, rubbing smooth the sharp edges of harshness and legalism.
This, friends, is the kindness that leads to repentance. To mind change and heart change and life change.
It’s the kindness that we’re praying will invade the lives of our dear ones this morning, tucked into this little circle. The kindness that will draw them to the true heart of God, the tender Father running toward them with arms open.
It’s the kindness that we’re praying will pervade our nature too, so that our people aren’t tripped up by our rules or judgement on their way to Jesus.

Leave a comment