Treasured

I usually don’t remember my dreams.

But, every once in a while, I think God speaks to me there.

Not in a mysterious way, so much.

More in a really obvious way that I was too busy to catch in my waking life.

Like I dream that someone comes up to me and asks me to pray for them.

True story.

Don’t need the gift of interpretation to figure out what that one might mean.

Last night I had a dream that I can’t shake.

One that is for me, but maybe not for me alone.

We were in worship and the invitation was to paint, to create, to splash our identity on canvas.

I am not one to think on my feet.  To splash anything without careful forethought.

Except, I guess, in my dreams.

My first thought was “loved.”  And in that moment, I knew it was right, but also not quite right.

Treasured.

This is the word that came.

The idea splashed onto the canvas of my dreams.

Represented by a crown, a thing of great beauty, of great value.

A thing whose value comes from the one to whom it belongs.

Friends, this is me.

This is us.

A treasured possession. (Malachi 3:17)

Ones formed in the image of a beautiful Creator.

Ones beautiful because we are his.

People of great value.

Value that lies not in our appearance, our performance, our popularity.

Value that comes from the One to whom we belong.

Friend, you are beautiful.

You are valuable.

You are treasured.

You are his.

Leave a Reply

