Love that surpasses knowledge

I’ve got two pages of sermon notes from the last couple of weeks.

Little seeds of thought that might or might not sprout into blog posts.

I’ve spent the past half hour staring at them and, friends, they are not sprouting tonight.

It’s this… this that is catching me.

I pray that you, being rooted and established in love may… know this love that surpasses knowledge.

(Ephesians 3:17-19)

I like knowledge.  Give me a Greek word and a concordance and I am in my glory.  I’m weird like that.

But here’s the thing.

It’s not knowledge that draws me to repentance.

It’s not knowledge that rescues me from my own mess.

It’s not knowledge that gives me hope for redemption that is so much bigger than me.

It’s Love.

During the closing song at church today, I felt a very clear call to respond in a specific way.

And you wanna know what?

My first response was nope.  Not happening.

And in the fifteen seconds that I wrestled with God, it wasn’t knowledge that won me over.

It was Love.

Love that’s never failed before.

Love that provides enough for our needs and more than enough for us to share. (2 Corinthians 9:8)

Love that calls us to not be afraid, but just believe. (Mark 5:36)

Love that rescues us from our mess and amazes us with hope for the future.

Friends, if we know nothing else today, let’s know this.

Let’s know it together

This Love that surpasses knowledge.

Leave a Reply

