Colorblind is not a thing

hands1

This post already has me all fired up.

Because, for the most part, I don’t like making waves.

I really don’t.

But on this day when we celebrate a man who fought for freedom and equality,

I cannot remain silent.

Friends, the goal of the dream isn’t colorblindness.

It’s said in an off-hand way.  Flippantly, almost.

Oh, I don’t see color, you tell me.

And I’m raising my kids to be colorblind too.

I hate to be the one to break it to you, but colorblind is not a thing.

I work with little kids.

They see color.  They notice differences.

And it’s ok.

Maybe what you mean when you tell me that you don’t see color is that you choose to ignore it.  That you choose never to have conversations about race with your children.

As a white mom to non-white babies, I cannot make this choice without fear for their literal physical safety.

I want to wrap them up in my arms, in my privilege, and keep them there forever.

Instead we have conversations about how certain types of body language can be interpreted as aggressive even when they are not intended that way.

And we talk about how we never ever run from police even if we are terrified.

Do I believe that my babies can do whatever they set their minds to do?  Absolutely.

Am I scared for them in a world where justice does not yet roll down like rivers?  No question.

So, friends, please don’t raise your kids to be colorblind.

Raise them to be kind.

To be brave.

To be agitators for justice.

Because our world needs more dreamers and less ignorance.

6 thoughts on “Colorblind is not a thing

  1. Connie Hicks

    I was involved with a brilliant therapist following the death of my Mom. She happened to be African American. In a discussion of race, she told me that it is an insult to her for people not to acknowledge her race. Denise compared that to not noticing that she is a woman. Race as well as gender are an important part of who we are. Our character and attitudes are also defining features and those are the things that we have control over. (I am the Nannie blessed to love Shannon’s babies!)

  2. Lori

    Hi there! I’m just popping in from the Adoption Talk Link Up. Your words are so true and you’ve stated them in such a succinct yet noble way. Thanks so much for this perspective and reminder that “colorblindness” is not something that we strive for…it’s authenticity and openness in dialogue.

  3. Jill

    AMEN! Thank you! I don’t believe in colorblindness, either and I hate when people let it roll off their tongue like it’s nothing.

    Thank you for linking up with #AdoptionTalk!
    Jill

Leave a Reply

