Undivided

We think we get more done when we multi-task.

Sometimes we even brag about how busy we are.  Doing all the things.

But, I know, the days that I feel the most frazzled and irritable are the days that I spend trying to make doctor’s appointments and text with social workers during my lunch break.

The days that I rush to finish up one last work e-mail as my daughter begs to tell me all the third grade drama from lunch.

Blessed are the pure in heart, he says (Matthew 5:8).

The ones undivided.

With a single purpose.  A single pursuit.

This kind of purity is one hundred times harder than the kind that we talk about with awkward, gender-segregated groups of hormonal teenagers.  (Although I must give a shout out to my mom and youth leaders for having those conversations with my sullen, adolescent self.  I imagine that they saved me a lot of mess.)

This kind of purity is not about how much we can get away with and still be ok.

In fact, it’s not about what we DO at all.

It’s about an undivided heart.

A single eye.

A life centered on just one thing.

Blessed are the pure in heart, he says,

for they shall see God.

Because, friends, here’s the thing.

Once again this God-man is asking us to do something impossible.

Except

Jesus.

Isn’t it always except Jesus?

This call to purity is not about rules.

It’s not about behavior.

It’s about surrender.

Again.

About rescue.  Transformation.

About seeing through redemptive eyes and speaking grace-filled words and touching with healing hands when we don’t have any of those things.

Except Jesus.

Blessed are the pure in heart

for they shall see God, he says.

Indeed, if we are truly looking when we ask for a heart undivided,

There is no doubt—we already have.

2 thoughts on “Undivided

Leave a Reply

