Margin

SAMSUNG DIGIMAX A503

This is my word for this year, I think.

The times in my life when I’ve felt happiest and most fulfilled have been the margin times.

Times with a little space, a little breathing room.

Margin means enough.

Enough blank boxes on the calendar.

Enough unscheduled moments in the day.

Enough unallotted money in the budget.

Enough space in the car, in the closet, in our hearts.

Enough time to listen.

To enjoy what we have.

To take the scenic detour.

To hear the tiny voice that says…

Send that letter.

Make that call.

Initiate that conversation.

Bake those cookies.

Meet that need.

Ask for help.

Rest.

No, really.  Rest.

Margin means saying no to the tyranny of the urgent.

Abandoning the quest to keep up with the Joneses.

Being brave enough to disappoint.

Margin means making space for what matters.

Hospitality.  Kindness.  Love.

And an incredible little girl who calls me mom.

This, friends, is margin.

It sounds nice, doesn’t it?

Expansive.  Freeing.

And really quite beautiful.

I’ll let you know how it works out for me. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Margin

  1. karen

    I love your blog, Shannon. It is raw and real and eloquent! I feel like, at SRES, I really don’t know you at all! But I can through your blog. You are beautiful, and I want you to know that, HOPE WINS! (Remember, along with faith, hope is right up there under love in 1 Corinthians 13!) See you in two–sigh!

Leave a Reply

