Undivided Heart

Not long ago, I was struggling over a particular decision, so I gave God an ultimatum.

“I’m going to sit here,” I said, “until I get some kind of clarity on this.  What should I do?”

I sat.

And then my mind was drawn to Jesus’ words to Martha in Luke 10.

You are worried and distracted about many things.

Yep, so, so many.

But only one thing is needed.

Only one thing.

This is not the answer I wanted, but I knew in that moment, and I know now, that it is the right one.

This morning, I guess I needed reminding.

The words of Psalm 86:11 were spoken aloud and they resonated in my heart so loudly that I couldn’t hear much else.

Teach me your way, O Lord, and I will walk in your truth;

Give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.

An undivided heart.

A heart that knows just one thing.

Even tonight, my heart wants to run every which way.

I am worried and distracted about many things.

So, so many.

But I plead alongside David.

And Martha.

For a heart that knows the only One who is necessary.

A heart undivided.

Leave a Reply

