You are already clean

I like big words.  And words with subtle shades of meaning.  And Hebrew or Greek words that provide context that doesn’t translate into English.  I am listening hard today.  There are lots of words here, in this truth being spoken from John 15.  Abide.  Vinedresser.  Prune.  Justification.  Sanctification.  I jot some notes, but I am listening not for three points and a practical application.  I’m listening for the tiny echo that tells me that this is where my heart and mind must rest, must settle, today.

The words aren’t big.  Or complex.  But I hear them spoken, I read them, and they echo.

You are already clean.

But, Jesus, if foot washing is good, go ahead and hose me down!

You are already clean.

But, look at him.  Look at her.  I am not enough.  I don’t measure up.

You are already clean.

But, what do I have to DO?  I am really, really good at doing things.

You are already clean.

But, I can’t take this bread, this cup.  They cost too much.  I don’t deserve them.

You are already clean.

The big words can wait.  They must wait.  As my trembling hands reach out for this bread, this cup, I know that these are the words, this is the Word, for me today.

You are already clean.

Leave a Reply

